Named in honor of George Washington, Washington County was created in 1799 from Tyrrell County. It lies in the eastern part of North Carolina. Plymouth, is the county seat.

Being on the Roanoke River and near the Albemarle Sound, Plymouth’s prime importance was as a port. During the early 1800’s Plymouth was one of 6 main ports in North Carolina and ranked 9th in population among towns. Plymouth was incorporated in 1807. In 1823 the Washington County court house was moved from Lee’s Mill to Plymouth.

Neighbor counties are: BertieBeaufortHydeMartin and Tyrrell counties, and the Albemarle Sound

The USGenWeb and NCGenWeb projects are maintained by volunteers. We encourage you to interact and share information with your fellow researchers.

I, Taneya Koonce, am your County Coordinator.  My maternal grandmother’s family was from Plymouth, so I have a vested interest in the history & genealogy of the area.  Please let me know how I may be of help.