Some North Carolina Districts, the Counties
and Officials in them, at one period, during Colonial Government
(1771 - 1785?)

©Transcribed & submitted by Sue Ashby - May 4, 2004
from Material in the NC State Arhcives.

NOTE: These Auditors are the men who signed the vouchers, authorizing payment for anyone, in the county they represented, during the Revolutionary War. Many of the vouchers were for material goods donated (beef, corn, wagons, guns, etc.) as well as military service given.
This also, gives you the districts in the state, which can be confusing when you see that the districts were sometimes the same as the towns and counties within them. Hopefully, this will help sort it out.
(I believe this is all of the districts, but am not positive)

EDENTON DISTRICT: - Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank, Perquimans, & Tyrrell Counties.
    Auditors: Lawrence Baker, Edward Everigin, William Righton, James Webb, Jr.

HALIFAX DISTRICT: -  Edgecombe, Franklin, Martin, Nash, Northampton & Warren Counties
    Auditors: Goodwin Davis, John Macon, Henry Montfort, William Green, John Branch & John Bradford

HILLSBOROUGH DISTRICT:   Caswell, CHATHAM , Granville, Orange, Randolph, & Wake Counties.
    Auditors: Memucan Hunt, (Huntsville, Ala. named for him), Ambrose Ramsay, John Taylor, Charles Abercrombie, John Rand, Absalom Tatom, Richard D. Cook, Archibald Murphey, John Nichols, Alexander Mebane, John Taylor, John Young, Samuel Smith.
( We know for sure that Ambrose Ramsey and John Taylor were Auditors for Chatham) Alexander Mebane was one for Orange Co.

MORGAN DISTRICT:Burke, Lincoln, Rutherford, Sullivan, Washington & Wilkes Counties.
    Auditors: Alexander Irwin, James Miller, Benjamin Elledge, David Vance, Edward Hunter, Russell Jones, (fot the counties of Burke, Lincoln, Rutherford & Wilkes)
    Auditors: Anthony Bledsoe, Edmund Williams, Landon Carter (for the counties of Washington & Sullivan Counties (now in Tennessee)

NEW BERN DISTRICT:  Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dobbs, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Pitt & Wayne Counties.
    Auditors: James Coor, Benjamin Exum, John Hawks, William Bryan, Etheldred Ruffin.

SALISBURY DISTRICT: (to 1782) -  Anson, Burke, Guilford, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowna, Rutherford, Sullivan, Surry, Washington & Wilkes Counties.
    Auditors: UPPER BOARD: Anthony Bledsoe, Ralph Humphries, Jesse Walton, John Brown, Daniel McKissick, Alexander Irwin (for counties of Burke, Lincoln, Rutherford, Sullivan, Washington & Wilkes.)
    Auditors: LOWER BOARD: Matthew Lock, Benjamin Cleveland, David Wilson, William Cathey (for counties of Anson, Guilford, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowan, & Surry)

SALISBURY DISTRICT: (from 1782) - Anson, Guilford, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowan, & Surry Counties.
    Auditors: UPPER BOARD - Traugott Bagge, James Hunter, Charles Bruce (for counties of Guilford & Surry.)
    Auditors: MIDDLE BOARD - Matthew Lock, David Wilson, William Cathey (for counties of Mecklenburt & Rowan)
    Auditors: LOWER BOARD - John Auld, Stephen Miller, Thomas Chiles (for counties of Anson, Montgomery, & Richmond.)

WILMINGTON DISTRICT: - Bladen, Brunswick, Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover & Onslow Counties.
    Auditors: Francis Lucas, William Dickson, Thomas Sewell, John Spicer Jr., John King, Thomas Routledge.