Avery County, NCGenWeb

County Borders

NCGenWeb - Avery County

Avery County was formed in 1911 from portions of Caldwell, Mitchell and Watauga Counties. Successfully searching for information related to your family may require knowing which one of these counties your ancestor lived in.

The following map shows current Avery County with the county boundaries that existed in 1895 superimposed on the map.

Following are the addresses for the court houses in those three counties:

Caldwell County
PO Box 1376
Lenoir, NC 28645
Phone 828-758-0161

Mitchell County
Crimson Laurel Way Administration Bldg.
Bakersville, NC 28705
Phone 828-688-2434

Watauga County
403 W. King St.
Boone, NC 28607-3531
Phone 828-264-1300

NCGenWeb - Avery County

Copyright 1998 - Mike DeLoach - Avery County Coordinator. All rights reserved. The information found at this site is for the purpose of non-commercial genealogical research. Information submitted by other researchers are copyrighted by the submitter. Queries are also copyrighted by the submitter. Any commercial reporduction or inclusion of this information is prohibited without the express authorization of the author/host of this site. Send all questions and/or comments to javan@deloach.org

Most recent revision: Monday, October 12, 1998 11:28:28 PM